top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePlastic Pilchard

I'm so bloody angry - November 24th 2020

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

It's 9.00pm on a Tuesday night and I'm so angry that my little fingers are tingling, my jaw is locked solid and I've got neck and head pain and a ringing in my ears.


So, one work colleague informed the boss at the weekend that her son (who lives with her) had tested positive for Covid-19. He was symptomatic but he got tested as a friend of his was positive. So the work colleague and her husband got tested too. Their tests came back negative, but that doesn't matter as the law states that because they live with someone who has tested positive the whole household must self-isolate for 14 days.


That means that you cannot leave your house or garden, not even to go shopping or walk the dog. You are confined to your place of residence. Full stop.


So the boss then went on to tell us that the colleague who should be isolating, let's call her Fanny (just because it's funny) came into the office at the weekend to do some admin stuff. What the fuck???!!!


I was shaking with rage when I read that on the office WhatsApp group. All of my other colleagues were sending messages saying that they were so sorry and that if they could help in any way she should let them know. I was just thinking - you stupid cow. Luckily I wasn't in the office on Monday, I've used up most of my annual leave so that I'm only working 3 days per week now until Christmas. Funny how this coincided with Fanny having to do some actual work and pick up the slack whilst I had a few well earned days off!


I was in the office today when Fanny messaged another colleague and asked what time she would be leaving the office as she wanted to call in with some files and pick up some work. Jesus Christ! What about self-isolation doesn't this woman understand.


I was so angry that I couldn't help myself and e-mailed the boss.


Subject: Why is Fanny coming into the office??


Message: I was fuming when I found out that Fanny came into the office on Sunday and can't believe that she's coming in again tonight.


She's not supposed to be leaving the house for 14 days, never mind popping in here and risking infecting the rest of us.


What's going on?????


The boss's reply: She tested negative Nic and is simply bringing back files and taking home some stuff to do.

She is sanitising after her and making she is no risk to us.

It is a great help to me but if you have strong feelings about it I will ask her not to and can arrange for stuff to be dropped off and collected instead.


I couldn't even reply I was too angry. How dare she put the onus on me! It's fucking illegal.


Fanny could be fined up to £1,000 and the boss can be fined up to £10,000 for breaking self-isolation. It also sets a very dangerous precedent that she will expect other people who are required to self-isolate to do the same thing as well.


I need a new job. I've been working at this firm for almost twenty years and since Fanny started she's caused nothing but stress and angst.


I already feel a little better for writing this all down, even my tongue is stiff and tingling I'm that tense. I may have to have a whisky.


On the plus side I finally had a follow up with my consultant after my hip replacement op in May 2019! It was only a phone call but I told him that I'm in pain every day and that my leg still feels longer than the other one. He said that he wants to get me in for another x-ray and to measure my legs, once everything is back to normal, so god knows when that will be. He mentioned that I have a tilted pelvis though, so that may be causing some of the tightness in my back and they may be able to prescribe some more physio for me, so that sounds promising.


In the meantime I think I'll see if the doctor will prescribe me some naproxen. I found half a box under the sink (from before my op) and took one a day for a week and the change was incredible. Sooo much less tension in my buttocks and sooooooooo much less pain.


Now if only I could quit my job I'd have less pain in the rest of my body.


And breathe.


Footnote. Covid info.

England is in full lockdown for four weeks until December 2nd.

Wales is out of lockdown.


- Cases: 1,538,794 (+11,299)

- Deaths (28-day): 55,838 (+608)

- Deaths (60-day): 60,558 (+644)


UPDATE: The boss must have had a little think about it and in the end Fanny didn't come to the office. Two days later she tested positive for Covid.


When the boss told me I said 'And THAT is why I didn't want her coming in to the office'. The boss admitted that she'd fucked up.


In case you were wondering Fanny was ill with flu like symptoms and couldn't get out of bed for a few days, but is better now and back in the office.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Two Lines of Doom

Well, The Covid finally got me after over two years of managing to avoid it. How on earth did you catch it? I hear you cry. Well, I went to Bearded Theory Festival with another 15000 people and we hug

bottom of page