top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePlastic Pilchard

The Two Lines of Doom

Well, The Covid finally got me after over two years of managing to avoid it.


How on earth did you catch it? I hear you cry. Well, I went to Bearded Theory Festival with another 15000 people and we hugged and danced and crammed into sweaty dance tents and had the most amazing, wonderful weekend since 2018. It was BLISS! Honestly, I don't regret a thing.


For one, it was perfect timing. I only missed one day of work, thanks to the Platinum Jubilee bank holidays and I should now be immune ready for Glastonbury Festival. I did feel pretty rough for a couple of days and I self-isolated for longer than the government recommended, but now (a week since testing positive) I just feel a bit bunged up and lethargic.


I first felt that something wasn't right when I went to bed in my tent (on an absolutely FREEZING - so cold you could see your breath) Sunday night at Bearded Theory. My throat was killing me and I was very wheezy and my bpm was 100 just lying still. It took me a couple of hours just concentrating on my breathing before I was able to get to sleep. And then I was awake at 5.00am. I did the lateral flow test as soon as I unloaded the car and got a shock when I saw the second line when I came out of the shower. I was half expecting though as all you could hear when you walked through the fields were the sounds of coughing coming from people's tents. So much coughing, I thought it would be a miracle if I managed to dodge it. Luckily though, nobody else in my gang seems to have caught it.


So, I'm on the mend now. My chest muscles have recovered from all of the coughing and I don't feel that bad at all. I didn't lose my sense of taste and smell either, hurrah. Now I just need to make sure I'm match fit for Glastonbury.


In other brighter news today marks the beginning of the end for Boris Johnson as PM. They held a vote of no confidence tonight and 148 MPs voted against the PM. 211 of the sleaze bags voted to support him, but 41% of his own party want him gone. This can only end in his resignation. Not yet, but give him a few more months to let the rot really set in.


Maybe by then the Tories will have found someone better than Liz Truss to replace him. God, they're a revolting lot. I can't think of one single Tory that would make a decent PM. They don't even have to be decent, just honest will do.


So, yes, we've got windbag Johnson for a few more months yet. Hopefully his reputation will damage the Conservative party permanently and they'll never win a GE again.


Fingers crossed.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page