top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePlastic Pilchard

Dead Pigeon

This morning I saw a pigeon staring at the body of a dead pigeon.He looked forlorn and started pacing around the body and I've been sad ever since. I think it's an analogy. Looking at the life we once had but unable to articulate your sorrow or do anything about it. Life currently is just fucking shit.


Pandemic raging out of control - shit.

Weather - shit.

Government - really fucking shit.

Job - shit.


I'm just tired of it. Of everything. There are just so many nobheads and morons, Twitter is absolutely depressing. So to get myself out of the doldrums I'm attempting to stay away from Twitter as much as possible and instead am trying read an actual book instead.


I'm joining the 52 Books in 52 Weeks Challenge. https://www.the52book.club/2022-reading-challenge/ I seriously doubt that I'll manage 52 books, maybe 26 if I'm lucky, but that's better than the 2-3 per year that I've been managing.


I'm currently reading Book 1. Absolute Pandemonium by Brian Blessed. He requests that you read the book in his voice, which I have been doing, and it's an absolute riot. What a life he's had. You can download the book here if you like... https://www.hive.co.uk/Product/Brian-Blessed/Absolute-Pandemonium--My-Louder-Than-Life-Story/18104736


Reading is definitely an escape but then it also reminds you of how much easier life used to be. Imagine just going anywhere you like on a whim. Oh the joy. God I can't wait for this shit to be over and get travelling again.


Although on the other hand I don't really want to leave Mum for too long and I don't think she'd let me take her with me.


I've just planned my trip to Scotland (for the fourth time) and booked a load of new hotels. They're about £40 per night more expensive than they were when I tried to book them last time. Sod it. I'm not staying in a dingy hellhole!


So, Covid update. You really don't want to know. Boris is being the usual bellend. Not really imposing any restrictions and as a result infections are through the roof.




They are probably much higher than the figures quoted here due to a severe lack of lateral flow and PCR tests. So far hospital admissions and deaths haven't been as bad as the first waves, mainly due to Omicron apparently being a milder variant and also a big uptake in booster jabs. However the NHS are still at breaking point with ambulances waiting at hospitals for 14 hours, people being advised not to go to hospital or ring 999 unless they have to and trying to treat mild ailments at home without bothering your GP. They've even reintroduced some 'Nightingale Hospital' but they appear to just be marquees in hospital car parks. I think they are just being used to triage patients but I could be wrong.


In more hysterical news Novak Djokovic has been held in a quarantine hotel after arriving in Australia unvaccinated. "Tennis star Rafael Nadal said he felt sorry that Novak Djokovic was denied entry into Australia, but added that the Serb knew for months he could potentially face problems if he arrived without being vaccinated against COVID-19".


My friend Sarah's kids both currently have Covid, they're ill but doing okay. My other friend's daughter currently has Covid and has a terrible ear infection. My friend in work says his mate's wife has been really ill with Covid and in hospital since December 22nd. She is on the mend now but her husband says "it's going to be a long road to recovery". Loads of people who had Covid last year since can't taste or smell anything. It will be an absolute miracle if manage to get through January without getting infected. One of the girls in the office was coughing like mad today (after flying back from Ireland where she spent New Year) so I'll be amazed if she doesn't have it. I'm still double masking whenever I leave my desk, so fingers crossed. I just want to make it to January 14th so I can go away to the cottage in Machynlleth with Mum, Karen and Pete. I can't wait to walk on the slate tiles with underfloor heating!


So that's it for now, I'm feeling a little less depressed after typing this. Now to drink some wine and watch some real-life crime on Netflix. There's nothing like a documentary about a serial killer to make you feel better!





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Two Lines of Doom

Well, The Covid finally got me after over two years of managing to avoid it. How on earth did you catch it? I hear you cry. Well, I went to Bearded Theory Festival with another 15000 people and we hug

bottom of page